• Yale University
  • School of Medicine
  • Yale Library
  • Historical Library
  • Directories
  • Mobile
  • Login
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library
  

  • Home
  • Find
  • Portals
  • Services
  • About
  • Guides and Tutorials
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials

Finding Articles

  • PubMed Help
  • Ovid Help
  • Yale Links Help
  • CINAHL Help
  • Evidence-Based Practice
  • Citation Analysis
  • Keeping Current

Finding Books & Journals

  • Orbis Library Catalog Help
  • E Journals and Books

Managing Citations

  • EndNote Help
  • EndNote Web Help
  • RefWorks Help
  • Quosa Help
  • Other Citation Managers

Guides to Library Services

  • Library Orientation
  • Document Delivery Services

Special Topics

  • NIH Policy Guide
  • Writing and Style Guide
  • MD Thesis Formatting
  • Medical Spanish
  • Business Resources
  • Mobile Devices

CINAHL Video Tutorials

These tutorials teach how to conduct effective searches in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database. CINAHL is the premier nursing literature database available at the Medical Library. These videos demonstrate how to build a focused question for an effective search in CINAHL, the CINAHL headings system, how to combine and limit searches, how to export search results to citation management systems such as EndNote and RefWorks, and much more.

  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #1: Introduction
    This is the first of the CINAHL video tutorials series, covering the access of CINAHL, setting up EbscoHost account, and an overview of the interface.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #2: Formulating Your Questions
    This tutorial teaches how to formulate, using the PICO model, a focused, well-built question for an effective, exhaustive literature search in CINAHL.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #3: CINAHL Headings (Part I)
    This tutorial introduces the CINAHL Headings system used in the CINAHL database - what it is and why it helps conduct a better search in the system.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #4: CINAHL Headings (Part II)
    This tutorial covers CINAHL headings tree structure, exploding a heading, using a heading as a major concept, and subheadings.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #5: Combining and Limiting Searches
    This tutorial teaches how to combine searches using Boolean operators and how to set common limits on searches, such as age groups, time spans, publication types, etc.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #6: CINAHL Search Result Display
    This tutorials covers the search result display of CINAHL, including how to save, email, print search results, and how to find full text of articles.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #7: Exporting Searching Results to RefWorks
    This tutorial demonstrates how to export search results from CINAHL to RefWorks, a popular web-base citation management application available at the Medical Library.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #8: Exporting Searching Results to EndNote
    This tutorial demonstrates how to export CINAHL search results to EndNote, a popular desktop citation management application. It covers step by step instructions for the Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Safari browsers on both Windows and Mac systems.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #9: Saving Searches
    This tutorial demonstrates how to save search strategy / search history permanently in CINAHL to allow retrieval and automatic rerun in the future.
    Available »  Video
  • CINAHL Video Tutorials #10: Saving Searches as Alerts and RSS Feeds
    This tutorial demonstrates how to save your search strategy / history as an email alert or RSS feed, which allows you to keep current with new research developments of your topic. This video also wraps up the CINAHL Video Tutorials series.
    Available »  Video
  • Find

    Library Catalog

    Databases

    Ejournals

    Ebooks

    Images

    Guides/Tutorials

    Library Classes

    Search This Site

    Tech Support

    Theses

    More

  • Portals

    Anesthesiology

    Basic Science

    Clinicians

    Comparative Medicine

    Consumer Health

    Digital Library

    Emergency Medicine

    Evidence-Based Practice

    Historical Library

    Nursing

    Public Health

    More

  • Services

    Ask a Librarian

    Borrowing Library Materials

    Consultation

    Department Liaisons

    Interlibrary Loan

    Library Account

    PDA/Mobile Device

    Personal Librarian

    Publication Support

    Remote Access/Computing

    Request Forms

    More

  • About

    Hours

    Adopt a Rare Book

    Associates

    Contact Us

    Cushing Center

    Departments & Staff

    Directions/Parking

    Floor Maps

    Giving to Library

    Policies

    More

© 2009 Cushing/Whitney Medical Library. (203) 737-4065, 785-5354
Sterling Hall of Medicine, 333 Cedar Street, P.O. Box 208014, New Haven, CT 06520.

Chat Phone Email Facebook RSS