• Yale University
  • School of Medicine
  • Yale Library
  • Historical Library
  • Directories
  • Mobile
  • Login
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library
  

  • Home
  • Find
  • Portals
  • Services
  • About
  • Guides and Tutorials
  • Managing Citations
  • EndNote Help

Finding Articles

  • PubMed Help
  • Ovid Help
  • Yale Links Help
  • CINAHL Help
  • Evidence-Based Practice
  • Citation Analysis
  • Keeping Current

Finding Books & Journals

  • Orbis Library Catalog Help
  • E Journals and Books

Managing Citations

  • EndNote Help
  • EndNote Web Help
  • RefWorks Help
  • Quosa Help
  • Other Citation Managers

Guides to Library Services

  • Library Orientation
  • Document Delivery Services

Special Topics

  • NIH Policy Guide
  • Writing and Style Guide
  • MD Thesis Formatting
  • Medical Spanish
  • Business Resources
  • Mobile Devices

EndNote Help  

  • Downloading and Installing EndNote X5 from Yale Software Library
    This guide provides step-by-step instructions on how to download and install EndNote X5 from Yale's Software Library.
    Available »  HTML
  • Getting Full Text PDFs with EndNote
    This tutorial demonstrates the "Find Full Text" function of EndNote to automatically download full text PDFs for the references in your EndNote library. Note: Please abide by copyright law and download full text responsibly.
    Available »  Video
  • EndNote X5 Getting Started Guide
    Official getting started guide from EndNote.
    Available »  PDF
  • EndNote Product Training
    Official training resources from endnote.com.
    Available »  HTML
  • EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero: which one is for me?
    Feature comparison for these popular bibliographic management tools.
    Available »  HTML
  • Exporting References from PubMed to EndNote and RefWorks
    PubMed made a subtle change in exporting search results to external citation management applications. This tutorial demonstrates the process of exporting to EndNote and RefWorks
    Available »  Video
  • Importing PubMed Records to EndNote X4
    This tutorial teaches how to import search results from PubMed to your EndNote library. This tutorial is based on EndNote X4.
    Available »  Video
  • Exporting Ovid SP Search Result to EndNote
    This tutorial teaches how to export search results from Ovid SP to EndNote, a desktop citation management application.
    Available »  Video
  • Adding Known Articles to EndNote X4
    This tutorial demonstrates how to add the reference of a known article into your EndNote library via the PubMed connection file from within EndNote. Again, this is best if you have a stack of known articles and need to quickly enter their references into EndNote. This is not recommended if you do not have known articles and need to do subject searches. In that case, you can do your searches in PubMed directly and import the search results into EndNote.
    Available »  Video
  • Adding Known Books or Book Chapters to EndNote X4
    This tutorial demonstrates how to add the reference of a known book into your EndNote library using the connection file for the Yale Library Catalog Orbis from within EndNote, and how to manually edit the book record to make it a book chapter record.
    Available »  Video
  • Inserting EndNote X4 Citations into Microsoft Word
    This is one of the core functions of EndNote - you can easily insert citations from your EndNote X4 library to your Microsoft Word document. There are multiple ways to do this, and this tutorial covers the most frequently used ways.
    Available »  Video
  • Formatting, Re-formatting and Unformatting Your Paper with EndNote X4
    This tutorial teaches how to format your paper after you have inserted citations into your paper using EndNote X4. It also teaches how to strip the citations in the paper of all styles (unformat it), and apply a different style to it (re-format it). This tutorial is based on EndNote X4.
    Available »  Video
  • Customizing EndNote X4
    This tutorial demonstrates a number of ways to customize EndNote X4 to make it work better for you, such as how to customize the style list, the import filter list, the connection file list, and the display fields of the references.
    Available »  Video
  • Creating Independent Bibliographies in EndNote X4
    Sometimes you just want a bibliography -- you don't want it to be part of your paper, just a list of references in a certain format. This tutorial demonstrates how to to do that.
    Available »  Video
  • EndNote Tips from endnote.com
    This is the official tips site for EndNote from Thomson ISI, the maker of EndNote.
    Available »  HTML
  • Exporting References from EndNote X4 to RefWorks
    EndNote and RefWorks both have their own advantages. If you want to try both applications, there is an easy way to transfer citation data between them. This video will show you how to export references from EndNote X4 for use in RefWorks.
    Available »  Video
  • Exporting References from RefWorks for EndNote
    This tutorial teaches how to export reference data out of RefWorks in order to be imported into other citation management applications, such as EndNote. This is part of the RefWorks Video Tutorials.
    Available »  Video
  • Importing EndNote Libraries to Quosa
    This tutorial teaches how to import existing EndNote libraries into Quosa, let Quosa download the full text articles, and then export those citations back to EndNote with Quosa full text links. This is part of the Quosa 5-Minute Video Series.
    Available »  Video
  • Exporting Citations from Quosa to EndNote
    This tutorial teaches how to export citations from Quosa to EndNote with the full text links. This is part of the Quosa 5-Minute Video Series.
    Available »  Video
  • Find

    Library Catalog

    Databases

    Ejournals

    Ebooks

    Images

    Guides/Tutorials

    Library Classes

    Search This Site

    Tech Support

    Theses

    More

  • Portals

    Anesthesiology

    Basic Science

    Clinicians

    Comparative Medicine

    Consumer Health

    Digital Library

    Emergency Medicine

    Evidence-Based Practice

    Historical Library

    Nursing

    Public Health

    More

  • Services

    Ask a Librarian

    Borrowing Library Materials

    Consultation

    Department Liaisons

    Interlibrary Loan

    Library Account

    PDA/Mobile Device

    Personal Librarian

    Publication Support

    Remote Access/Computing

    Request Forms

    More

  • About

    Hours

    Adopt a Rare Book

    Associates

    Contact Us

    Cushing Center

    Departments & Staff

    Directions/Parking

    Floor Maps

    Giving to Library

    Policies

    More

© 2009 Cushing/Whitney Medical Library. (203) 737-4065, 785-5354
Sterling Hall of Medicine, 333 Cedar Street, P.O. Box 208014, New Haven, CT 06520.

Chat Phone Email Facebook RSS