HomeResearch HelpPersonal Librarian for Students

Personal Librarian for Students

Find your personal librarian by school or program:

 

School of Medicine

Courtney Brombosz
courtney.brombosz@yale.edu

School of Public Health

Kate Nyhan
kate.nyhan@yale.edu

Kayla Del Biondo
kayla.delbiondo@yale.edu

School of Nursing

Janene Batten
janene.batten@yale.edu

BBS

Rolando Garcia-Milian
rolando.milian@yale.edu

Sofia Fertuzinhos
sofia.fertuzinhos@yale.edu

PA/PA Online

Caitlin Meyer
caitlin.meyer@yale.edu


What is The Personal Librarian Program?

The Personal Librarian Program gives you a direct contact in the library. We provide you with reliable information and clear direction at all stages of your journey here at the Yale School of Medicine. If we don’t know the answer, we'll find someone who does.

History of the Program

The program was conceived in 1996 by Jan Glover and Judy Spak as a novel way to reach out to students in the medical center (read their article). The program matches students with a librarian as they matriculate – a relationship that is maintained throughout the student’s journey at Yale. The model has been adopted by the Yale Library system and other universities.

When should I reach out to my Personal Librarian?

Here are a few ways Personal Librarians have been used in the past:

  • One-on-one or small group instruction on databases and tools

  • Guide you to specific resources as your research and learning needs evolve

  • Connect you with other university staff and faculty

  • Consult about research projects

  • Help articulate good research or clinical questions

  • Develop strong search strategies

  • Help get materials